Anti-Brexit Labour MPs


Whilst it has been apparent for some time that the issue of Britain leaving the European Union is indeed a divisive one, it is a shame that elected representatives in Westminster still don’t seem to be able to do their jobs. After the second reading of the government’s Article 50 Bill, 52 Labour MPs voted against the government despite the fact that ‘Brexit’ is an issue that transcends party lines. This goes to the heart of a wider issue, namely that of our politicians believing that they have a divine right to lead whilst forgetting that it is the people who lend sovereignty to them, not visa versa as some have claimed in the context of the referendum.

What is worse is that many of these Labour MPs represent constituencies that voted to leave the European Union in last year’s referendum, so by voting against the beginning of the formal process of leaving they are failing in their most fundamental duty: to represent the interests of their constituents.

It is important that we all know exactly which Labour MPs voted against Article 50 so that their constituents have all the facts and may think twice about re-electing them come 2020 (or whenever the next General Election is held). Below, courtesy of Westmonster, you will find the full list of Labour MPs who think that they know best. If yours is on their and you happen to be a supporter of Britain leaving the EU, you know exactly who not to vote for in three years time.

Heidi Alexander (Lewisham East)

Rushanara Ali (Bethnal Green and Bow)

Mr Graham Allen (Nottingham North)

Dr Rosena Allin-Khan (Tooting)

Luciana Berger (Liverpool, Wavertree)

Mr Ben Bradshaw (Exeter)

Kevin Brennan (Cardiff West)

Lyn Brown (West Ham)

Chris Bryant (Rhondda)

Ms Karen Buck (Westminster North)

Dawn Butler (Brent Central)

Ruth Cadbury (Brentford and Isleworth)

Ann Clwyd (Cynon Valley)

Ann Coffey (Stockport)

Neil Coyle (Bermondsey and Old Southwark)

Mary Creagh (Wakefield)

Stella Creasy (Walthamstow)

Geraint Davies (Swansea West)

Thangam Debbonaire (Bristol West)

Stephen Doughty (Cardiff South and Penarth)

Jim Dowd (Lewisham West and Penge)

Maria Eagle (Garston and Halewood)

Mrs Louise Ellman (Liverpool, Riverside)

Paul Farrelly (Newcastle-under-Lyme)

Vicky Foxcroft (Lewisham, Deptford)

Mike Gapes (Ilford South)

Kate Green (Stretford and Urmston)

Lilian Greenwood (Nottingham South)

Helen Hayes (Dulwich and West Norwood)

Meg Hillier (Hackney South and Shoreditch)

Dr Rupa Huq (Ealing Central and Acton)

Peter Kyle (Hove)

Mr David Lammy (Tottenham)

Clive Lewis (Norwich South)

Rachael Maskell (York Central)

Kerry McCarthy (Bristol East)

Alison McGovern (Wirral South)

Catherine McKinnell (Newcastle upon Tyne North)

Mrs Madeleine Moon (Bridgend)

Ian Murray (Edinburgh South)

Chi Onwurah (Newcastle upon Tyne Central)

Stephen Pound (Ealing North)

Mr Virendra Sharma (Ealing, Southall)

Tulip Siddiq (Hampstead and Kilburn)

Andy Slaughter (Hammersmith)

Jeff Smith (Manchester, Withington)

Owen Smith (Pontypridd)

Jo Stevens (Cardiff Central)

Stephen Timms (East Ham)

Catherine West (Hornsey and Wood Green)

Dr Alan Whitehead (Southampton, Test)

Daniel Zeichner (Cambridge)



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s